Argentina and Colombia confirmed as Copa America co-hosts

10 April 2019 | Stadia & Major Events
Argentina and Colombia confirmed as Copa America co-hosts
CONMEBOL, South American soccer’s governing body, has officially confirmed Argentina and Colombia as co-hosts for the 2020 Copa America.

The 12-team, 38-match tournament will be split equally into two groups with six teams based in Argentina and six in Colombia. The final will be played in Argentina.

Despite the nations being nearly six hours away from each other by plane, CONMEBOL has decided to elect them to co-host after rejecting a bid from the US.

CONMEBOL is staging the revamped Copa America in 2020 as part of a move to align South America’s continental championship with UEFA's European Championship.

This year’s edition will also feature two guest nations from outside of South America in the form of Qatar and Japan.

Chile are the current champions having beaten Argentina on penalties in consecutive Copa America finals in 2015 and 2016.

Related Articles

Share On


The latest commerical details, groundbreaking interviews and industry analysis, free, straight to your inbox.

SoccerExpert Signup

Sign up today to receive the newsletter.

Soccerex Reports

Soccerex 20 under 21

With the increasing value being attributed to young players, this report provides insight into the hottest prospects on the market.

Football Finance

Soccerex Football Finance 100 is an exclusive annual report that compiles a ranking of the world’s most financially powerful clubs.



Follow us on twitter to receive our latest market insight, industry interviews and news about our upcoming events.

Would you like to see Soccerex's content opportunities? Click here