Seven nations to vie for Women’s Euro 2017

01 Jul 2013

UEFA has announced that seven countries are in contention to host the 2017 edition of the Women’s Euro national team tournament.

UEFA said the football associations of Austria, France, Israel, the Netherlands, Poland, Scotland and Switzerland have been invited to attend an observer programme at the upcoming Women’s Euro 2013 in Sweden. All potential bidders will receive the bid requirements by the end of the year and will then be invited to prepare bid dossiers, which they must submit to UEFA by October 10, 2014.

The host will be decided in December 2014, with Euro 2017 set to prove a landmark tournament for European women’s football. Following a UEFA Executive Committee decision made in December 2011, Euro 2017 will be expanded to feature 16 teams playing a total of 31 matches.

Euro 2013, which runs from July 10-28, will consist of 12 nations playing 25 games. Germany will be seeking to defend the title it won in Finland in 2009.